Schedule a free consultation
Top Hampden Criminal Defense Lawyer
Top Hampden Criminal Defense Lawyer
Serving all of Western Massachusetts including

Criminal Charges & Statutes Of Limitations In Hampden

Posted on : December 12, 2021
Springfield Massachusetts Attorney for Arests, Criminal Charges

What Is The Statute Of Limitations For Criminal Charges In Hampden MA?

The statute of limitations for criminal charges is the amount of time you have to file charges against someone for a crime. If you don’t, then no charges can be filed and the person cannot be prosecuted. The amount of time varies by state and type of crime committed.

The Statute Of Limitations For Misdemeanor Charges In Hampden MA

Like many states, in Hampden misdemeanor charges have a statute of limitations that is typically one year. Typically more serious crimes are classified as felonies and carry a longer statute of limitations. However, there are some crimes that are more serious than felony crimes but are still misdemeanors, these also carry a one-year statute of limitations.

The Statute Of Limitations For Felony Charges In Hampden MA

A felony is considered any criminal offense that is punishable by either death or imprisonment in the state prison. These charges have a statute of limitations of three years in Hampden MA.

Common Statutes

The Statute Of Limitations In Hampden MA For Theft Crimes

Generally, a statute of limitations in Hampden is three years, but if the punitive damages are $250 or more than ten years applies to this crime.

What Are The Basic Commonwealth Laws Regarding Statutes Of Limitations?

The statute of limitations is the time period that a state has to file criminal charges against someone. As mentioned above, the most common statutes of limitations are one year for misdemeanors and three years for felonies but can be more depending on the crime committed.

Statute Of Limitations For Sex Crimes

For MA, sex crimes (including rape) can usually not be prosecuted after 15 years.

New criminal charges must be filed within three years of the date on which the crime occurred, or within ten years if the charge is for a felony, or one year if it’s for a misdemeanor. If you are unsure about when the applicable time period starts, then consult with an attorney immediately because there are no exceptions.

What Is The Statute Of Limitations For Murder In Hampden MA?

Hampden MA has a statute of limitations for a murder that is essentially “eternity”. This means they have no limit to when they can charge someone with the crime.

What Are The Civil Statutes Of Limitations In Hampden MA?

There are multiple types of civil statutes in Hampden, but the main ones are a breach of contract and personal injury. They range from 1 to 6 years depending on the specific type of claim being made.

If You Are Facing Criminal Charges In Hampden MA, it is advisable to seek immediate counsel to understand what your rights, obligations, and defenses may be. Contact Kokonowski & Kokonowski today to learn how we can help you.

Posted by : admin

Comments are closed.